Meet Dr. Fletcher, our new blogger

by

Today we welcome a new member to the GreenHomes America team – geochemist, outdoor enthusiast and blogger extraordinaire, Kathryn Fletcher. 

 

Kathryn has an impressive list of letters after her name (B.S., M.S., Ph.D.), but more importantly, a love for the environment and passion for spreading the word about conservation of natural resources. Here’s a quick interview with Dr. Fletcher, as way of introduction…

Mike: Your education and experience is rooted in Earth Science, why did you get interested in energy efficiency?

Kathryn: I became a geochemist because I love being outside, but the longer I spent in earth science the more I became aware of the predominant attitude of every day people that the future of our planet is out of our hands, which simply is not true. There are hundreds of things that we can individually do to change our collective trajectory. Some of them are expensive or require a change of lifestyle, but there are many, many inexpensive (or even free) ways to save energy and make baby steps towards lessening our impact on the planet. My goal is to help people realize this.

Mike: So why GreenHomes America?

Kathryn: I jumped at the opportunity to work for GreenHomes America for two reasons. First, it’s a company full of people who believe in what they’re doing – helping others to use natural resources more conservatively. The second reason ties into the first. When I heard that the purpose of my job wasn’t to sell stuff, but rather to help get the word out on ways to be more energy efficient, I thought, ‘This is the kind of company I want to be a part of.’

Mike: I’m glad you feel that way.  Would you tell us about your plan for your blogs?

Kathryn: I know most people are operating on a tight budget these days, so I’ll be focusing on simple, inexpensive ways to improve home energy efficiency and help keep $ in your pocket. Since I’ve been a hard-core scientist for as long as I can remember, it is inevitable that I will sometimes descend into the nitty-gritty of how or why something works, or run the numbers to satisfy my curiosity on just how long it would take an investment to start paying back, but it’s all part of the fun.

Mike: Any parting words?

Kathryn: Well, they’re not really parting, since I hope to be around for a while, but I guess I’d like to let everyone know that I welcome comments! If any of our readers have home efficiency questions, put them out there and I’ll do my best to find the answers!

Well there you have it folks. We’re pretty pleased with our new addition and I hope you will be too.  Welcome, Kathryn!

Thanks,
Mike.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

